Who hosted past G20 Summits? Here's a list

Sep 9, 2023, 03:48 PM IST

Who hosted past G20 Summits? Here's a list



India is hosting the G20 Summit 2023 at the newly inaugurated Bharat Mandapam in New Delhi. The theme for India’s Presidency is 'Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam - One Earth, One Family, One Future'.


Indonesia hosted the 17th annual meeting of G20 in 2022. The theme for the post-pandemic G20 2022 Summit was ‘Recover Together, Recover Stronger’.


Italy hosted the G20 Summit 2021. Italy’s G20 Presidency focused on three combined themes: 'People, planet and prosperity’.

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia hosted the 15th annual meeting of G20 in 2020 under the theme ‘Realising Opportunities of the 21st Century for All’.


The 2019 G20 Summit hosted by Japan focused on eight themes:  Global Economy, Trade and Investment, Innovation, Environment and Energy, Employment, Women's Empowerment, Development and Health. 


The 2018 G20 Summit was under the theme 'Building consensus for fair and sustainable development’.


The 2017 G20 under German Presidency met under the theme ‘Shaping an interconnected world’.


China hosted the 11th annual meeting of G20 leaders in 2016. It was under the theme 'Towards an innovative, invigorated, interconnected and inclusive world economy'.


Turkey had the G20 Presidency in 2015. It aimed to focus on developing more inclusive global growth, enhancing investments, and effectively implementing previous commitments.


The 2014 Brisbane G20 Summit was the ninth annual meeting of G20 leaders. It focused on the global economy, financial regulation, poverty reduction and sustainable development.


The Russian G20 Presidency in 2013 focused on several agendas like a framework for strong, sustainable and balanced growth; jobs and employment; international financial architecture reform; and more.


In 2012 under its G20 presidency, Mexico prioritised several agendas like economic stability and structural reform for growth and employment; strengthening of financial systems and procurement of financial inclusion for economic growth.


France hosted the G20 summit in 2011 and food security and agriculture were the main priorities.


Canada hosted the G20 Summit in 2010 in Toronto under the theme ‘Recovery and new beginnings.’

South Korea

South Korea hosted the 2010 G20 Summit under the theme ‘Shared Growth Beyond Crisis’.

United Kingdom

The 2009 London Summit was the second meeting of G20 leaders. The main agenda was to start a reform process to manage globalisation.

 United States

The 2009 Pittsburgh Summit was the third meeting of G20 leaders to discuss about financial markets and the world economy.

United States

The Washington Summit of 2008 was the first meeting of G20 leaders which achieved the general agreement amongst the G20 on how to deal with the financial crisis of 2008 and to form a strong foundation to avoid similar crises in future.