What is ‘Timed Out’ in Cricket? Here’s why Angelo Mathews was Dismissed in BAN vs SL WC Match
In a bizarre yet historic moment, the World Cup 2023 match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Monday (Nov 6) saw Angelo Mathews being declared ‘timed out’ without facing a single delivery.
It is the first time in international cricket that a batter has been dismissed via the ‘timed-out’ rule, and Angelo Mathews will have his name in the record books for the bizarre dismissal.
‘Timed Out’ In Cricket
According to the rules, if a batsman fails to come out and face a ball within three minutes of the previous batter getting out, the umpires have the authority to declare him ‘timed out’ and send him back to the pavilion.
But the batsman will be considered out only if the fielding captain appeals for the same. In the Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka match, Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan appealed the same, as Matthews did not play a single ball even as three minutes had passed since the dismissal of Sadeera Samarawickrama.
According to the official website of Melbourne Cricket Club, “After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless time has been called, be ready to receive the ball, or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 3 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out, Timed out.”
However, the bowler does not get credit for the wicket.