The 5 Days of Diwali 

Oct 30, 2023, 07:28 PM IST

The 5 Days of Diwali 

Heena Sharma

Day 1: Dhanteras 

Dhanteras marks the beginning of Diwali festivities. On this day, people clean and decorate their homes, buy new utensils or jewellery, and worship Lord Dhanvantari, the god of health and healing. 

Day 2: Naraka Chaturdashi or Chhoti Diwali 

It is believed to be the day when Lord Krishna defeated the demon Narakasura, symbolising the victory of good over evil. People take an oil bath, wear new clothes, and light lamps to celebrate the occasion. 

Day 3: Diwali — Lakshmi Puja 

It is the main day of Diwali when most of the festivities take place. People worship Goddess Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth and prosperity, and Lord Ganesh, the remover of all obstacles, on this day. Homes are illuminated with lamps, candles, and decorative lights. 

Day 4: Govardhan Puja 

It is believed that Lord Krishna lifted the Govardhan Hill to protect the people of his village from torrential rains. Devotees prepare a variety of food items and offer them to the deities in a symbolic mountain shape. 

Day 5: Bhai Dooj 

The fifth and final day of Diwali is Bhai Dooj. It is a day to celebrate the bond between brothers and sisters. Sisters perform aarti of their brothers, apply a tilak on their foreheads, and exchange gifts as a token of love and protection.